Skip to main content

You are here

Schwarzmann Earns Prestigious TCATA Award

Outgoing president honored during organization’s annual meeting

WESLEY CHAPEL, Fla. — During the recent 2022 Annual Educational & Management Conference of the Textile Care Allied Trades Association (TCATA), outgoing TCATA President Fred Schwarzmann, Jr. of A. L. Wilson Chemical Company received the prestigious J. Morry Friedlander Award. The Award is the organization’s highest honor and has only been awarded six times since it was introduced in 1994.

“Tonight, it is my distinct honor to recognize someone who has made enormous contributions to TCATA. This year’s recipient is certainly most deserving of this award. He has been a leader both within TCATA and in the industry for many years,” said association CEO Leslie Schaeffer during the event, which took place on April 3-6, was held at the Wild Dunes Resort in Isle of Palms, South Carolina.

Schwarzmann served on the TCATA Board of Directors in various positions from 2005 to 2011 and most recently as president of the board beginning in January 2020.

“I was certainly touched by the recognition I received, but I know that my contribution would not have been nearly enough in a vacuum,” Schwarzmann says. “Only by pulling together were we able to protect TCATA through the dark days and re-launch it into a bright future.”

TCATA established the J. Morry Friedlander Award to honor outstanding dedication and service to the association, naming it to acknowledge the unrivaled enthusiasm, dedication and goodwill Friedlander generated in his more than 40 years of service

Incoming President

Also during the Conference, John Silverman, president of Tschopp Supply Company of Buffalo, New York, was installed as TCATA’s incoming president.

Silverman previously served on TCATA’s Board of Directors, representing distributors and in the role of treasurer.

Silverman began his career at Tschopp in 1989, and by 1999 had become corporate vice president and general manager. In 2005, when James Tschopp retired, Silverman assumed the role of corporate president.

When asked what being a member of TCATA has meant to him, Silverman says, “The relationships and connections I’ve made through TCATA have helped Tschopp Supply grow as a company.”

Anniversary Members

Also recognized at the conference were TCATA Anniversary Members. Celebrating 75 years of membership are Pellerin Milnor, Gardner Supply and Laun-Dry Supply Company. SEITZ The Fresher Company is celebrating 25 years as a TCATA member.

Fred Schwarzmannn receives J. Morry Friedlander Award

Fred Schwarzmann of A.L. Wilson Chemical Company (right) was recently honored with the J. Morry Friedlander Award — the organization’s highest honor. Pictured with Schwarzmann are, from left, Bill Odorizzi of Sankosha USA, and TCATA’s Luci Ward and Leslie Schaeffer. (Photo by TCATA)

Schwarzmann Earns TCATA’s Highest Honor

Fred Schwarzmann (left) welcomes John Silverman of Tschopp Supply to the podium as TCATA’s newest president, serving a two-year term. (Photo by TCATA)

Have a question or comment? E-mail our editor Dave Davis at [email protected] .