TCATA Members Marvel at Conference Offerings Amidst Mountainous Beauty


Lawton Jones, Nancy Jones
TCATA President Lawton Jones (left) presents Nancy Jones of Foster-Stephens with a special award recognizing the company’s 75 years of TCATA membership. Foster-Stephens is only the fifth company to have achieved that milestone.

Staff Writer |

FAIRFIELD, N.J. — An outstanding business program, a resort area with much to see and do, and near-perfect weather combined to make the Textile Care Allied Trades Association (TCATA) Annual Conference in Park City, Utah, last month one of the group's best ever, the association says.

Jade West of the National Association of Wholesaler Distributors provided attendees with an overview of federal legislation and regulation having a significant impact on businesses that has passed or may be passed.

Best-selling author Joachim de Posada discussed the “marshmallow principle” of delayed gratification, the subject of a famous 1970s experiment. He explained how businesses might apply the principle to be more successful.

Economist Alan Beaulieu explained to attendees how they could make adjustments in their business planning to prosper in anticipated, predictable economic cycles.

At the closing dinner, several members were recognized for achieving milestone anniversaries. Foster-Stephens of Elk Grove Village, Ill., became only the fifth company to celebrate 75 years of association membership.

A special surprise was the presentation to Foster-Stephens President Nancy Jones of the original membership application made by Elmer Jones, the company’s founder and Nancy’s grandfather, submitted shortly after Foster-Stephens was founded in 1936.

Also recognized were 50-year member Laundrylux and 25-year members Fuller Supply, Gurtler Industries and United Brass Works. Milton and Gail Magnus of M&B Hangers were recognized for their support of the Annual Conference, an event they haven’t missed in 35 years.

Bryant Dunivan, vice president of sales and marketing for Energenics, was elected TCATA president-elect. He will serve a two-year term. Joining Dunivan on the board will be Roger Komins, Package Supply, elected treasurer-elect.

Elected vice presidents were David Tingue of Tingue, Brown & Co., representing the Supply Manufacturers Group, and D’Arcy McConvey of Dalex Canada, representing the Distributors Group.


Latest Podcast

Coaching, collaboration and teamwork help create an unforgettable front counter team, relates Todd Ofsink, CEO of Todd Layne Cleaners. To nurture that customer-first mentality, he says it's sort of like being a parent. And he's looking for that caring, special person who can shine at the front counter.

Want more? Visit the archive »

Digital Edition

Latest Classifieds